My Seatbelt Pillows For Kids

5 Sep

My daughter sends me emails all the time on different things she finds on Pinterest.   Just recently she sent me one on making seatbelt pillows for kids.   I never thought of that before and decided to make some for my grandchildren.   Just the other day, Caden fell asleep in his carseat and he looked so uncomfortable with his head hanging down.   Hopefully this pillow will help him (and his brother and sister) sleep more comfortably in the car. 

 I wanted my covers to be easily removed for cleaning so I made one rectangle 5” longer (the front) so it could be used as a flap that gets pushed inside behind the pillow form.   I also made it a little shorter.   Here’s the instruction sheet for My seatbelt pillows for kidsNOTE:  A kind reader informed me that I had left out sewing the Velcro…sorry!  Once you have turned the pillow inside out, lay it flat (like picture above).  Cut and sew 2 Velcro hook pieces along the top of the two tabs (facing up) on one side of the pillow, and cut and sew 2 Velcro loop pieces along the top of the other two tabs (facing down).  The tabs are to overlap over the seatbelt. 

My grandsons are into Batman and Angry Birds. I found Batman fabric at Walmart.   They have a lot more kid fabric than Joann’s and it’s cheaper too.   I’m so glad our Walmart brought back their fabric department!   Here’s just a few of the fabrics I saw there.

I couldn’t find Angry Birds fabric anywhere…don’t think it’s available (yet).   So, I found some pictures online, printed them on transfer paper, and ironed them onto the orange fabric.   Voila, Angry Birds fabric.

Hmm, I wonder if an adult version would work?   I’ll have to give that some thought.

5 Responses to “My Seatbelt Pillows For Kids”

  1. Julie Hutto June 1, 2013 at 3:40 AM #

    I don’t sew but am needing about 4 of these as gifts..would you be willing to help me out? Thanks..Julie Hutto (2 sports, 1 cars, 1 butterfly)

    • pegeads June 1, 2013 at 7:58 AM #

      Hi Julie,
      Sure, I would be glad to make you the seatbelt covers. I will send you a separate email tomorrow so we can discuss the specifics…I’m babysitting the grandkids today. Thank you.

  2. Sue June 10, 2014 at 4:28 PM #

    Peg: I am in the midst of making these pillows following your pattern, but I can’t find anywhere that says how much velcro is used. Please help!!! Thanks …Sue

    • pegeads June 10, 2014 at 5:56 PM #

      Sorry Sue, you’re right! You are the first to point this out. The Velcro is attached to the tabs, so once you sew them, cut the Velcro the size of your finished tabs. The tabs are to overlap over the seatbelt so make sure you attach them to the pillow that way.
      Thanks again

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Iron On Transfer Paper…My New Creative Friend « pegsgottado - November 27, 2012

    [...] grandsons loves Angry Birds, so when I was making their seatbelt pillows I decided to make my own Angry Bird fabric using the iron on transfer [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

