Kylan’s Pteradactyl Halloween Costume

3 Sep

My three grandkids are all going to be dinosaurs for Halloween this year.  My daughter thought it would be easy for me to make them using sweats as the base for the outfits.  The oldest, Kylan, wants to be a Pteradactyl, so my daughter sent me several Pinterest pictures to give me some ideas.  After looking over the pictures and sketching some ideas, here’s what I ended up making.

Kylans Pterodactyl Outfit

Luckily I had several yards of brown polyester fabric, boning, and felt pieces. I bought some “glow in the dark” ping pong balls (table tennis balls) for the eyes at Walmart.   And, yes, they do glow in the dark!   The face will be pinned on the top of his hood.  The wings will be sewn under the arms and along the sides, and the tail to the back of his sweat pants…the sweats are brown also. 

Katie and kids stopped by this morning to give me the sweats she bought for the kids.  Kylan really liked his outfit. I showed him how the eyes glowed in the dark and he smiled and thought it was cool. 

The last few things I need to do, per Kylan, is make the three fingers…gotta have those fingers, and something to go over his shoes as feet. 

Caden is going to be a Triceratops, with a big frill, horns, tail and spots.  Kinzley is going to have spikes running down her hood and back, and a tutu with a tail sticking out.  We’re not sure what kind of dinosaur she’ll be, but she’ll be a cute girly one! 

I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

20 Responses to “Kylan’s Pteradactyl Halloween Costume”

  1. Rebecca October 10, 2013 at 1:14 AM #

    Hey! I was just wondering what type of fabric you used to make this? I was recently asked to make a pterodactyl costume for someone and I really like the way this looks!

    • Rebecca October 10, 2013 at 1:27 AM #

      Okay, so I reread this and feel silly. You used brown polyester, haha, but still, this looks fantastic!

      • pegeads October 10, 2013 at 7:45 AM #

        Yes I did use polyester and also for the face I used a layer of batting and heavy interfacing to give it some stiffness. Thanks.

  2. Luann August 23, 2014 at 8:48 PM #

    Any chance you have a pattern for the head? My grandson’s wish this year!

  3. Emily September 27, 2014 at 9:28 PM #

    What a cute costume, and I LOVE the glow in the dark eyes! My son wants to be a pteradactyl this year. Any chance you could share your pattern with me? Thanks so much!

    • pegeads October 10, 2014 at 11:47 AM #

      Emily, I just added the pattern and instructions to my blog that should help. Thanks

  4. Sarah October 5, 2014 at 9:37 AM #

    I by chance happened to stumble apon your sight threw pinterest. I have been searching for a great pteradactyl costume for my son and so far no luck by this one I LOVE.
    Do you by chance happen to have a pattern ?

    • pegeads October 5, 2014 at 11:10 AM #

      I emailed you the head pattern that I have. Hope this helps

  5. Candace October 7, 2014 at 6:16 PM #

    Could you send the pattern to me? My daughter would love theirs costume.

    • pegeads October 10, 2014 at 11:45 AM #

      Hi Candace…I just added the pattern and instructions to my blog!

  6. Sara October 9, 2014 at 11:36 PM #

    I have been looking all over for a decent looking pterodactyl and yours is the best I have found. My son wants to be a pterodactyl for Halloween. Anyway you could email me the pattern? That would be awesome! Thanks!

    • pegeads October 10, 2014 at 11:45 AM #

      Hi Sara, I just added the pattern and instructions to my blog…have fun and thanks for the kind words.

  7. Candace October 23, 2014 at 7:31 PM #

    Could u email me the pattern for the purple pterodactyl head please??
    nightdncr@yahoo.com

  8. Mae July 7, 2017 at 5:39 PM #

    Hi i love the purple piece together pteradactyl you made, do you have a pattern? My niece would love it! If so please email me at meggo1327@gmail.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.