Batman Cape and Mask

30 May

While talking with my daughter, Katie, a couple of weeks ago, my 3 year old grandson, Kylan, asked if I would make him a Batman Cake…Cake???  What he meant was a Batman Cape and of course I said yes.

In my stash of fabric I found two pieces from a blue sheet I could use for the capes (I was going to make one for Kylan’s 17 month old brother, Caden, too) and some yellow and black fabric for the Batman logo.

I found this line art Batman logo online.

I copied and saved it to my computer, and once I cut out the capes I reduced it to the size I wanted. I then made two copies. One copy to cut out the bat and the other to cut out the circle behind the bat. I ironed fusible webbing on the back of the black and yellow fabric, traced the templates on the paper backing, cut them out, fused the bat to the circle and then fused the logo piece onto the back of the cape.

I searched and searched but couldn’t find a Batman cape pattern I liked, so I decided to design my own.

My Batman Cape Pattern

Batman Cape Pattern

My fabric happened to be triangle shaped pieces so I just made the following modifications using the boy’s T-shirts as a guideline for the neck opening and cape length:

  1. I cut out a neck opening in the center using a bow
  2. I folded the piece in half (dotted line)
  3. Cut the top edges at an angle (straight line).
  4. Made two scallops along the sides using a bowl.

I fused the Batman Logo onto the back, applied 1/4″ black double wide bias tape to the edges and 1″ black double wide tape to the neck, extending it a few inches on each side. When the boys came to try them on I adjusted the excess bias tape and sewed on Velcro.

Here’s how the Batman Capes turned out…pretty good if I say so myself!

Oh, I can’t forget about the Masks!

 I found the perfect batman mask template on Blog 5 to Nine…they have great party themes and ideas you’ll want to try. Here’s the link. http://www.blog529.com/2011/09/diy-batman-mask-new-batman-printables-collection/ I used black foam and added the elastic from two party hats I had laying around.

The boys LOVED their Batman Capes and Masks…they wore them the entire day!

♫♫  Da, Da, Da, Da.Da, Da, Da, Da…..
BATMAN!  

Here they are running up the stairs to go see themselves in the mirror…that’s  why the picture’s a little blurry.

Here’s pictures of Kylan in his Batman outfit…I couldn’t get Caden to keep still long enough to get any good pictures of him in his cape and mask…boohoo.

Checking out his new Batman Cape

One Response to “Batman Cape and Mask”

  1. Christopher September 24, 2014 at 12:22 AM #

    Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and in
    depth information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once
    in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

