Lavender First Aid Ointment

4 Jun

I just love Lavender essential oil! I enjoy the calming aroma and its ability to heal the skin is amazing.

It seems I am always burning myself either with my clothes iron when I’m sewing or from the oven when I’m baking.  The first thing I do is reach for my Lavender First Aid Ointment.  It helps relieve the pain and when applied several times a day, the burn scabs over and heals in a few days.  I keep a container in the kitchen cabinet and in my purse…I use it all the time. I also like to give it as a “homemade gift”.

Last year my husband and I went camping with our daughter, her husband, and our two grandchildren.  My daughter’s husband cut his finger and I had him put the ointment on it.  Then, my husband got a bug bite on his foot which started itching really bad.  I applied this ointment and within seconds he said the itching stopped.

Here are some FACT SHEETS I put together about Aromatherapy and four (4) of my favorite essential oils: Lavender, Tea Tree, Lemongrass and Rosemary.  They are very informative and explains why Lavender is considered a must have for everyone’s medicine cabinet!

LAVENDER FIRST AID OINTMENT

Makes 2 small containers

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 Tablespoons Olive oil (doesn’t go rancid and is wonderful for the skin)

1 Tablespoon beeswax (in the candle making section at Hobby Lobby for $14.99 for a block…check for their 40% off coupon and Joann’s has 4 oz. Pellets for $4.99 online)…the block will last you forever!

1 Vitamin E capsule

20 drops Lavender essential oil

5 drops Tea Tree essential oil

Small pan and measuring spoons

Small containers, washed in hot soapy water (you can get a 2 – pack of the blue containers (pictured) at Walmart for 97 cents) and the white ones online…I can’t remember where I got mine.

  1. If using beeswax in a block, shred or cut into small pieces, then measure it,
  2. Place Olive oil and beeswax into a double boiler (set the pan in another pan that’s filled with a few inches of water, pictured above).
  3. Heat the oil just until the wax melts. Remove from heat.
  4. Pierce and stir in the contents of 1 Vitamin E capsule.
  5. Allow the wax to cool a little and then stir in the Lavender and Tea Tree oils. If the wax starts to cloud up and harden, place the pan back into pan of hot water.
  6. Pour mixture into containers. Allow to cool completely before adding the lids.

Store container out of reach of children.

Note: Beeswax has a low melting point, so you may notice that the ointment softens after awhile. That’s OK, it will still work.

When I give this ointment as gifts I like to include a card letting the recipients know what it’s good for and what’s in it…if you’re interested in making and giving this ointment, here’s the cards I use.   Lavender First Aid INFO CARDS

I’ll be posting these essential oil recipes in future posts: Lavender Herbal Shampoo Spray, Lavender & Rosemary Leave-In Hair Conditioner and Lavender & Lemongrass Air and Bug Spray…so start reading up about these essential oils in my FACT SHEETS  above, so you’ll know why I use and LOVE them.

UPDATE:  I tested this ointment on a cut I got…the very day I was drafting this post.  You can read about it here:

Special Update…to My Lavender First Aid Ointment

 

Leave a Reply

