My Lavender Shampoo and Lavender and Rosemary Leave In Conditioner Sprays

5 Jun

I started making my Lavender Herbal Shampoo and Lavender & Rosemary Leave In Conditioner Sprays two years ago while studying about Aromatherapy. Both are easy to make and don’t contain any unusual or hard to find ingredients. The results are shiny, soft and clean hair without the chemicals found in store bought products.

Lavender Herbal Shampoo Spray

This Lavender Herbal Shampoo Spray is so easy to make and thoroughly cleans my hair. I also use it to shave my legs and underarms while I’m showering.  

The main ingredient is Dr. Bronner’s Lavender Castile Soap. Itis organic and highly concentrated.  The consistency is like water because it doesn’t contain thickeners (which is one reason why I used spray bottles).   It comes in 2 oz bottles up to a gallon jug and costs between $3.00 and $60.00  I get mine at a local health food store, but I’ve also seen it in the health food section at our Kroger store.

I didn’t have any Lavender soap at the time of this posting, so I added a picture of it with the other ingredients so you can see what it looks like.

Here’s what you’ll need to make 1 – 2 oz bottle   (These small bottles are easy to use, don’t take up a lot of room in the shower and the perfect size to take with you traveling or camping)

2 1/2 Tablespoons Dr. Bonner Lavender Castile Soap

2 Tablespoons Herbal Tea (below) or distilled water (tap water doesn’t keep well and spring water harbors bacteria)

3 Drops Lavender essential oil

2 oz spray bottle washed out with hot soapy water (you can get these at Walmart for 97cents)

  1. Add herbal tea (or distilled water) and essential oil to bottle. Shake to mix.
  2. Add Castile soap and turn bottle several times to mix.

To use:   Wet hair, shake bottle and spray all over hair.   Work thoroughly into hair.   I leave it in until I’m done with my shower and then I rinse it out.

Herbal Tea:

The herbs used in this tea are known to be beneficial for the hair.

Steep 2 teaspoons of dry Rosemary, Lavender, Nettle and Sage in 1/2 cup of boiling distilled water.   Cover and let set overnight.   Strain through a wet coffee filter.  

Note:  You don’t have to use all of these herbs if you don’t want to go buy such a small amount.  Of all of them,  I would recommend using dried Rosemary because it’s great for hair and because I’m planning on sharing a tasty Grilled Potato Recipe that uses Rosemary.

Lavender & Rosemary Leave In Conditioner Spray

I don’t like the hair conditioners on the market. They’re too slicky…yuck!   This conditioner leaves my hair soft and shiny after blow drying.

Here’s what you’ll need to make 1 – 2 oz bottle

2 Tablespoons Aloe Vera Gel (it’s the clear cosmetic gel, not the aftersun gel or gel you drink. You can find it at Walmart and health food stores. Mine cost $6.00)

3 Tablespoons Distilled Water

1/4 Teaspoon Apple Cider Vinegar

1 Vitamin E capsule

7 drops Lavender essential oil

3 drops Rosemary essential oil…oops, I left it out of the picture…my bad

2 oz spray bottle washed out with hot soapy water

  1. Mix all ingredients together and pour into the bottle.

To use: Shake and spray all over wet hair. Comb through and style as usual.

I like to put labels on the products I make and yes,  I get to do something creative using my computer too!

Labels help reduce the effects of light exposure on the oils.  They also cover up the sticky glue left from removing the product label and they look good too.   I like to put the labels on with 2″ packing tape.   It helps make them water proof.

Below are the labels I created for the shampoo and conditioner in a PDF format.  Feel free to use them.

Lavender Shampoo and Lavender and Rosemary Conditioner LABELS


Upcoming POSTS:  My skin care recipes:  Lavender Facial Cleanser Spray, Aloe Face Mask and Aloe & Jojoba Moisturizer

Special POST coming…

I’ve been working on a post draft about my Lavender First Aid Ointment I think you’ll find interesting…I need a couple more days or so before I can finalize and post it.  STAY TUNED!

Well, Peg’s Gotta Do something creative  for desert tonight…hmm, what’s it going to be?

Leave a Reply

