Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes

6 Jun

My husband and I enjoy eating dinner together while we watch “our shows” that we tape on our DVR…LOVE our DVR!

My husband, Lou, owns Eads Painting & Staining, Inc., a local paint contractor, and he works so hard.   I’m not complaining, I thank God every day for the business He sends Lou’s way.

I like to make something special for Lou and I to eat during our TV time.   Yesterday I made these Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes (pictured below) and Lou surprised me by cooking dinner…he likes to cook and creates some great dishes!

PINEAPPLE UPSIDE DOWN CUPCAKES

Makes 6 Jumbo Cupcakes

Topping:

1/4 cup Butter

1/2 cup Brown Sugar

Pecan Pieces (I didn’t measure…sorry)

3 Pineapple slices, cut up

 Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease 6 Jumbo Cupcake Pan.

  1. Melt butter in a glass measuring cup, then distribute it evenly into each cupcake mold.
  2. Sprinkle brown sugar evenly over butter, followed by pecan pieces and then pineapple pieces.

Prepare Cake Recipe (below)

Cake Recipe:

This recipe can be baked in a 9 X 9 cake pan.  Bake it 35-40 minutes…It’s a nice dense cake.  

 1 1/4 cups Flour

1 cup Sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder

1/2 teaspoon Salt

1/2 cup Milk

1/4 cup Pineapple Juice (or milk)

1/3 cup Shortening (works better than oil)

1 Egg

1 teaspoon Vanilla

  1. Place all ingredients into a mixing bowl.
  2. Beat on low to blend, scraping bowl.
  3. Beat on high for 3 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally.
  4. Pour or ladle batter evenly over toppings in each cupcake mold.   Tap pan on the counter to settle the batter.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Let stand in pan for 5 minutes, then run a knife around each cupcake to loosen.

Place cooling rack on top, turn and tap on counter to release.   If toppings remain in pan, spoon out and place on cupcake.

Allow to cool before storing.

To serve, I like to microwave them for a few seconds to warm them up…yum!

Here’s the pictures I took while making this recipe…and the dish my husband fixed for us.   

I just had to take a picture of this fresh egg I got from my niece…look how much bigger it is than the “large” store bought egg.

This his how my toppings looked like before I added the cake batter.

This is how they baked up.  At first I thought I had filled them up too much, but as you can see I didn’t.  As I mentioned above, it’s a dense cake, not spongy like a boxed cake mix.

This is how they looked after I turned them out of the pan…a success!  I love my Wilton baking pans.  I bought this one and a 9 x 9 square cake pan with a lid at Joann Fabrics using my 40% or 50% off coupons!  Can’t beat it.

Here they are neatly stored (in my Wilton baking pan) and ready to eat!

Now for my husbands’ surprise breakfast he made us.

Lou’s Layered Breakfast Surprise

We have breakfast for dinner at least once a week, and that’s what Lou fixed last night. He makes a mean breakfast skillet too.

For his Layered Breakfast Surprise, Lou placed some cooked shredded potatoes with peppers and onions on the plate, then added his cheesy scrambled eggs with fried bacon pieces, and topped it off with Bob Evan’s sausage gravy.   A couple of biscuits and BOY was it goooood!

 

As you can see, I ate the whole thing!  Needless to say, we had to wait awhile before eating our Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes.

Love it when he cooks!!

Leave a Reply

