My Homemade Skin Care Recipes For Your Face

24 Jun

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve noticed my face has become drier. I’ve tried all sorts of cleansers and moisturizers, but none of them have produced the positive results like these homemade ones. I use them every day and they are so easy to make. They don’t contain any hard to find ingredients, chemicals, or additives normally found in store bought products. My face feels so soft and smooth. I’ve also noticed that from time to time I’ll get a pimple and then it will be gone in a few days. I think it’s due to the ingredients working to pull out the impurities in my skin.

Lavender Facial Cleansing Spray

This cleansing spray gently removes dirt and grime and leaves my skin feeling squeaky clean. The 2 oz spray bottle makes it easy to use and it’s the perfect size for traveling and camping.

Here’s What You’ll Need:

3 Tablespoons Distilled water (tap water does not keep well and spring water harbors bacteria)

1 Tablespoon Dr. Bronner Lavender Castile Soap (I get mine at a local health food store and I’ve seen them at our Kroger store in their health food section)

2 drops Lavender essential oil

2 oz spray bottle washed in hot soapy water (Walmart has these for 97 cents)

– Place the water, soap and essential oil in the bottle, then turn the bottle several times to mix.

To use:    Wet your face.    Shake the bottle.    Spray twice into your hands, rub them together and massage over your face.    Rinse and pat dry.

I like to put labels on all the products I make. They identity the product and also cover up the sticky residue from the product labels. I apply the labels with 2” packing tape. It helps keep them somewhat waterproof.

Here’s the labels I created for the Lavender Facial Cleansing Spray in a PDF format. Feel free to use them.  Lavender Facial Cleansing Spray LABELS

I found the next two skin care recipes in the book Uncommon Cures for Everyday Ailments, while I was searching for relief from diarrhea…that’s a subject for another post. They seemed so simple I had to give them a try. I did and I’ve been using them ever since.

Aloe and Jojoba Moisturizer

This moisturizer is wonderful! It’s cooling and penetrates my skin without leaving it greasy.

You won’t believe how easy is to make…two ingredients!   That’s it.

Here’s What You’ll Need:

Aloe Vera Gel (the clear cosmetic quality gel, not the after sun Aloe gel)

I bought mine at a local health food store for $6 for a 6 oz. bottle.   Walmart also carries it.

Jojoba Oil (pronounced “Ho Ho Ba”)

I bought mine at a local health food store for $10 for a 4 oz. bottle

To use:   Place one drop of Jojoba oil into your palm, then add a dollop of Aloe Vera Gel. Mix with your finger, then apply the mixture over your face and neck. It says to keep it away from the eyes, but while I’m applying it I close my eyes and lightly smooth it over them.

If you need to take it with you when traveling or camping, I recommend you put some of the Aloe gel into a small container (from Walmart for 97 cents) and some of the Jojoba oil in a small glass amber bottle with a dropper from the health food store…costs about $2.25. I don’t recommend mixing them together and storing them.

BENEFITS

Aloe is a natural humectant, which draws moisture from the air and into the skin. It is also rich in vitamin C and E, which are known to nourish the skin.

Jojoba oil, according to the book The Encyclopedia of Aromatherapy, is actually a liquid wax. Its chemical structure resembles the skin’s own oily secretion, sebum. As well as being an excellent moisturizer for all skin types, when massaged into the skin it combines with sebum and acts as a emulsifier, gently unclogging the pores and freeing embedded grime. It can even be used on oily and acne-prone skin. Jojoba also contains myristic acid, which has anti-inflammatory properties.

What more could you ask for from a moisturizer!

Aloe Anti-Wrinkle Face Mask

Like the Aloe and Jojoba Moisturizer, this mask uses only two ingredients. It’s refreshing and washes off easily with warm water without leaving any residue.

Here’s What You’ll Need:

Aloe Vera Gel (same as above…cosmetic grade)

Vegetable Glycerin (I got mine at Walmart for $3.88)

Container washed with hot soapy water (I use a small glass container with a screw on lid…don’t remember where I ordered it from, sorry)

– Mix equal parts aloe and glycerin in a container. Sometimes I’ll add a drop of Lavender or Rosewood (good for mature skin) essential oil for added benefits.

To use: Apply the mixture to your face and neck and leave on for 20 minutes. Rinse with warm water.

BENEFITS:

Both aloe and glycerin are known for their anti-inflammatory and moisturizing properties. According to the book, the aloe will help reduce fine lines, pitting and scarring. After using this mask daily for three months, your skin will look firmer, smoother and younger…I’m all for that!

The bottom line is finding a skin care program that works for YOU. Not because it costs $50 a month, or has the latest “special” ingredient, or is used by well-known celebrities. These skin care recipes work for me, so I’m sticking with them.

COMING UP

I’ll show you how you can use my four favorite essential oils (Lavender, Tea Tree, Lemongrass and Rosemary) to clean and refresh your home…stay tuned.

 

Leave a Reply

