My Camper Cushions and Curtains are FINISHED!

29 Jun

All I can say is, yyyyyeeeeeeeaaaaaa! 

I finished the curtains on Tuesday, and my husband and I took them to my daughter’s to hang them up in the camper. They turned out really nice. The hooks on the bracket clips worked out great with the grommet tops, but I think they need to be superglued on. We’ll have to work on that later. 

I finished the last cushion yesterday around noon! I took them to my daughter’s so we could put them in the camper…and of course to take some pictures. 

First, here’s the picture of what the old cushions looked like.  

My arrangement was wrong, but this is how they looked.

Here’s some pictures of our new cushions and curtain.

recovered camper cushions and bed curtains

This is the couch cushions, screened bed curtains opened, and the small roll up curtain.. For the small cushions, I had to use the seat cushion fabric because I ran out of the dark brown. Everyone really liked the screened bed curtains.   I think they look good too, and they weren’t hard to make. 

I have to tell you this…Tuesday, the cable guy was out looking at our cable and while he was doing his thing, I was in the other room hammering the grommets in the curtains…74 of them! I can’t tell you how loud my hammering was! Wham, wham, wham, wham, wham…5 times I had to hit those grommets to get them set. The cable guy never said anything…and neither did I.

camper cushions turned into a bed

Here’s how it looks with the couch cushions laid out into a bed…looks comfy doesn’t it.

recovered camper cushions and closed screened bed curtains

Here’s what I called the dining room cushions, the screened bed curtains closed, and one of the curtain panels that goes behind the sink and stove.   There is another bench and window on the other side.   These cushions also make a bed by lowering the table that sits in the middle, and pushing the seat cushions on top of the table, and then laying the back cushions down. 

All the seat cushions and the dining room back cushions have a plywood back, and the dining room and middle couch seat have two small legs screwed into the bottom to keep them from sliding off. 

I am very happy with how the cushions and curtains turned out.   It was a long couple of weeks, but well worth the time and effort…and it only cost us around $170. That comes to $8.50 a piece (12 cushions and 8 curtain panels).   It definitely pays to do things yourself. 

Now what am I going to do??? 

Take a vacation in our new camper!! 

I’ll tell you all about it when I get back.

16 Responses to “My Camper Cushions and Curtains are FINISHED!”

  1. pillowsalamode July 1, 2012 at 5:28 PM #

    It looks FABULOUS!!! All that hard work really paid off. :)

  2. Tammy March 8, 2013 at 12:48 AM #

    Did you use shower curtains for the curtains? I need to redo our cushions for our pop up. Did you have a pattern to redo your cushions?

    • pegeads March 8, 2013 at 7:34 AM #

      I made the curtains from fabric and used the old ones as the pattern.

  3. Lisa Jones May 20, 2013 at 4:25 PM #

    How are these hung? Our popup has those hard plastic things that slide into a track.

    • pegeads May 20, 2013 at 4:42 PM #

      I used the plastic slides…they were a pain to get out of the track I added the Command hooks to them and snapped them back into the tracks. If you go this route, glue the hooks on…some of ours didn’t hold and we decided to glue them on. Hope this helps.

  4. Kelly March 22, 2014 at 1:40 PM #

    Love these! We are needing to recover our boat cushions, inside the cabin cruiser. So we have two large triangular pieces. Want material to be water resistant yet still comfy to touch and sleep on. What do you recommend?

  5. Agraham March 23, 2014 at 11:47 PM #

    It looks great! How did you attach the command hooks to the fabric and where did you glue? Would you mind posting an up close picture?

    • pegeads March 26, 2014 at 7:10 AM #

      Thank you. The command hooks were attached (glued) to the sliders that were sewn to the old curtains, then snapped into the curtain track and the new curtains were hung on the hooks through the grommets. I’d like to take a picture for you but the camper is in storage. Hope this helps.

  6. Cheryll July 3, 2014 at 5:18 PM #

    You have amazing talent! We just bought an old pop up camper that needs some work. I’m going to try some of your ideas. Thanks for sharing!!

    • pegeads July 3, 2014 at 6:08 PM #

      Thank you so much, Cheryll! Nice to hear. Good luck…it will be worth your effort.

  7. Diane O'Reilly August 23, 2014 at 12:14 PM #

    This is exactly what I need to do for my camper. only I am not an accompished sewer, I also have to replace the foam, so not looking forward to that..:( If I take apart the cushion covers and rip apart the panels is it these peices you used as templates with the new fabric?
    Also like the other posters I would love to see the picture even just a close up of the command hooks.. If you wouldnt mind, as I am unsure how to proceed with the sliders, and finally do the curtains drop off from the hooks, they look a little precarious? ( I have 4 boys)!

    • pegeads August 24, 2014 at 7:52 AM #

      Diane, I normally do rip apart and use the pieces as the pattern pieces, but the old cushions were constructed in a way I was not familiar with. Instead I made them as box cushions and made my own patterns. As stated in my posts I also extended the zippers to make it easier to insert the wood and foam. I don’t have a closer picture of the hook command strips and the camper is at my daughters. I would suggest using super glue to attach them to the sliders as over time they started coming off. You can alway sew the curtain panels to the sliders which is how ours were done originally. The hook works fine with the grommets. Hope this helps, and good luck. I’d love to see them when you get them done!

  8. Eric May 25, 2015 at 11:35 PM #

    Hi Peg,
    I write for the website DoItYourselfRV and was wondering if it would be OK to feature the photos of your camper cushions and curtains in an article? Of course we would give you full credit and link back to your website.
    Thank you,
    Eric

    • pegeads May 26, 2015 at 6:48 AM #

      Hi Eric. That would be very nice, and thank you.

Leave a Reply

