Spare Bedroom Makeover

10 Jul

Spare bedroom makeover

When my first grandson was born, I decided to redecorate our spare bedroom into a nursery and guest room. I remembered that I had two light blue sheets and blue and white checked curtains (I made from sheets) that would go with the wall colors. Wanting another color, I decided on chocolate brown, and so I went and bought a brown twin sheet set. I often use sheets for fabric. They’re a lot wider and can be cheaper per yard than home décor fabric.

Whenever I redecorate a room, I always make a floor plan first. It’s so much easier to move the furniture cutouts around (on the floor plan) than moving the actual furniture. I wrote how to make a floor plan on my husband’s website if you’re interested. Here’s the link: http://www.eadspainting.com/how-to-make-a-floor-plan.html.

I wanted the nursery area to be somewhat separate from the guest area, so I decided to hang one of the light blue sheets from the ceiling. To add some color and interest I ironed on some circles from the brown and checked fabric using fusible webbing.

fabric room divider

I mfabric covered side tableade the bed skirt and table cover from the blue and white checked curtains and a flat valance and table topper from the brown sheets. I brought in the bench at the end of the bed from another room. I actually made the bench myself and used tablecloths to cover it with…another good choice for fabric.

The last thing I had to tackle was the walls.  I looked around the house to see what I could use.

Wall Decorations

To go above the bed, I found some wire storage cubes that I took apart and wired a black framed picture to it.   I found and printed the picture on my computer.

wall hangings

I made three of these and hung them above the bed.

Disney painting

For the nursery walls, I had this picture that my Father had painted several years ago of various Disney characters.

framed puzzle pictures

I bought these two puzzles, and my husband and I put them together. I covered them with diluted white glue, and after they dried I framed them in poster frames. We have several puzzle pictures in our home. They make a good winter project. 

I was really happy with the way the room turned out, and even happier that I had a place for my grandson to sleep when he spent the night with us.

One Response to “Spare Bedroom Makeover”

  1. pillowsalamode July 10, 2012 at 8:36 AM #

    I LOVE these ideas! Our newest grandson is visiting very soon . . . must try! :)

Leave a Reply

