Peanut Butter Granola Bars

20 Aug

A few weeks ago, I found this granola bar recipe and thought it would be the perfect breakfast for me…something quick and easy to eat. I made some and have been eating them for breakfast ever since…and I get my daily chocolate fix too. Besides being a quick and easy breakfast, the fiber is helping my system move things along…if you know what I mean.

INGREDIENTS – Make 12 bars

2 1/4 cups Rolled Oats

3/4 cup Rice Krispie Cereal (I used Kroger Crispy Rice cereal…it’s cheaper)

1/2 cup Wheat Flour

1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda

2 1/2 tablespoons Brown Sugar

1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

1/4 cup Butter, melted

3 tablespoons Peanut Butter

1/3 cup Honey

1/2 cup mini M & M’s

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Lightly grease one 9 X 9 baking pan.

  1.  In a large mixing bowl, combine the oats, cereal, wheat flour, baking soda and brown sugar.
  2. Add vanilla, melted butter, peanut butter and honey and mix with one hand until mixture is thoroughly combined.
  3. Stir in M & M’s
  4. Dump mixture into pan, spread out evenly, then press firmly
  5. Bake for 18 minutes or until lightly browned, pressing the mixture down again after 10 minutes.
  6. Do not over bake.
  7. Remove from the oven, press again, and cool 10 minutes before cutting into 12 bars.

Note:  I use a plastic knife to cut all my baked goods…it won’t scratch your pans and cuts more smoothly than a regular knife.

Let bars cool completely before removing.

Wrap each bar in plastic wrap and store in a covered container.

My grandson, Caden, likes them too!   He’s a cutie!

One Response to “Peanut Butter Granola Bars”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Decorating Will Have To Wait, So I’ll Make My Giant Wrapped Candy Decorations « pegsgottado - December 5, 2012

    […] machine.   I’ll be filling the candy with some homemade treats like my candy bracelets and granola bars, and and maybe some small toys or […]

Leave a Reply

