A Family Blanket For Mom

13 Sep

Last Christmas I made my mom this family blanket so she could put it on her bed as a reminder of how blessed she (and dad) was… and how much she was loved. 

It took me awhile to decide how I was going to make this “family blanket”. I finally decided to make fabric hearts with everyone’s name on them. I decided to use a fabric marker for the names because my machine didn’t do embroidery and I didn’t want to hand stitch them on either. For the hearts I used blue fabric for the males and pink for the females. 

I went a little further and picked different blue and pink patterns for mom and dad, 6 children, 10 grandchildren, 10 great grandchildren and 10 spouses.   I ended up needing 5 different pink patterned fabrics (for the females) and 5 different blue patterned fabrics (for the males).   I used fat quarters because they came in so many different colors and patterns. 

For the heart sizes, I choose 6” hearts for mom and dad and 5” hearts for everyone else.   I made heart templates using my cricut machine…love my cricut!. I ironed interfacing to the back of the fabric pieces before I traced and cut out the hearts. I figured the interfacing would help keep the edges from fraying and make them look more like appliques. 

Once I had all the hearts cutout, I made name templates on my cricut and traced them onto the hearts with a black fabric marker.   The templates worked out great… no way I could have done it freehand. 

After all the hearts were done, it was time to decide how to place them on the fleece.   After trying different arrangements, I ended up placing them along the sides, in family order, with mom and dad’s hearts overlapping in the center.

I pinned the hearts in place and sewed them on using a blanket stitch with pink and blue (of course) embroidery thread. 

All in all it didn’t take that long to make. It was worth every minute when I saw the surprise on my mom’s face! 

Now, what am I going to give her this Christmas?

One Response to “A Family Blanket For Mom”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Iron On Transfer Paper…My New Creative Friend « pegsgottado - November 27, 2012

    […] wish I had thought of using iron on transfer paper when I made the hearts for my Mom’s fleece blanket…it would have saved me a lot of […]

Leave a Reply

