Fall Decorations

3 Oct

I thought I had better start getting my fall decorating out before it passes me by… I’m working on a Halloween outfit for my granddaughter and have other projects lined up.

The pumpkin flower arrangement was centerpieces I made for my daughter’s wedding reception… 4 years this October. The tissue paper fall flowers around my pumpkin scented candle, I just made the other day, and lastly, my scarecrow candy jar, he’s been around for years! 

Tissue Paper Fall Flowers

These 6” flowers are made the same way as my tissue paper pom pom centerpieces. I used six 6” X 12” strips of tissue paper: 3 orange, 2 yellow and 1 black. With the black facing up I folded the strips in an accordion fashion 3/4” wide. I secured it with a piece of wire, cut the ends to a point and then pulled the layers out (starting with the black)…simple.

I love the way the candle light glows through them in the evening when the lights are low. 

My Scarecrow Candy Jar

Here’s what I used:

1 pint mason jar with ring and lid

3” Styrofoam ball

Small straw hat

Muslin

Fabric scraps

Multicolored raffia

Jute

Black craft foam

Hot glue gun and glue sticks

Rice

1.  Trace the top of the mason jar ring on a piece of heavy cardboard, cut it out and hot glue it to the top of the ring.   Let the glue harden. 

2.  Cut a little off the bottom of the Styrofoam ball so it’s flat and hot glue it to the cardboard circle. 

3.  Cut about a 15”- 16” circle from the muslin, lay it over the Styrofoam ball and secure with a rubber band.   Adjust the fabric so it fits tightly over the Styrofoam ball and secure with a piece of jute.   Trim edges with pinking shears. 

4.  Place straw hat on head to determine where to place raffia and glue to inside of hat.   Glue hat to head. 

5.  ARMS:   Cut two 4 1/2” X 2 1/2” rectangles with pinking shears.   Fold and glue the long sides together.   Let harden.   Tie one end closed with thread about 1” from edge.   Fill with rice, leaving about 1 1/2” unfilled.   Glue opening closed. 

6.  Screw head on jar (with flat lid on top of jar).   Lift up muslin collar and glue top of arms to metal ring at each side.   Glue the collar down to the metal ring and arms.   Let harden. 

7.  FEET:   Trace the bottom of the mason jar on a piece of black craft foam, adding two feet (see picture above).   Cut out and glue to the bottom of the jar.   NOTE:   Make sure you have the head screwed on when you glue on the feet to make sure they are facing forward. 

8.  Add small leaf embellishments to the hat and fabric patches to the collar.

Fill the jar with your favorite fall/Halloween candy.   These make great gifts for teachers, co-workers, family and friends.

Leave a Reply

