My Fall Mantle and Valances

11 Oct

I finally got my fall mantle and valances done.   I had the pumpkins and sunflower garland, but I needed something else, so I decided to make a scarecrow to finish it off.

 This guy was really easy to make. 

I took a medium size brown paper bag and stuffed it with wadded up newspaper and tied it closed.   I used markers for his face and hot glued on raffia for his hair.   I made his hat and shirt from some fall fabric I had and hot glued them in place. I finished him off with a piece of rope tied around his neck.   To get him to stand, I stuck a dowel rod into his neck and pushed the other end in a small clay pot that had a piece of Styrofoam in it. 

I think he turned out pretty good and my grandsons liked him too. 

My Fall Valances

Shortly after we moved into our home, I had my husband build me two wooden valances for the windows in our family rooms.   Rather than build one with a top, all he did was nail two side pieces to a front piece and attached it to the window with L brackets.   He stained them to match the window trim and they looked great!   I hung blinds (gets the west sun) inside the window casing and used tension rods to hang my sheers.   I really like these valances because I can either leave them as is or cover them for a different look.

 For my fall valances I found this fabric tablecloth at Big Lots.   It was a 60” X 102” rectangle and only cost $10… that’s almost 3 yards of fabric!   I really liked the leaf design and the colors go good with our beige furniture.   I also made a table runner with some of the leftovers.

2 Responses to “My Fall Mantle and Valances”

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode October 11, 2012 at 9:38 AM #

    BEAUTIFUL!!! And how clever to change your valances for special holidays and occasions . . . love it! :)

    • pegeads October 12, 2012 at 9:34 AM #

      Thanks. Changing the valances completely changes the look of the room.

Leave a Reply

