A Merry Cricut Christmas

5 Nov

Every year my husband and I have my family over for Christmas Eve.   To make it special, each year I pick a theme for our Christmas decorations.   In 2009 I went all out, making all my decorations with my daughter’s cricut expression machine and my niece’s cricut cartridges…she’s an avid scrapbooker and had all the holiday cartridges I needed. 

This was the first time I ever used a cricut machine and as you’ll see, it’s definetly NOT just for scrapbooking.

This was our cricut Christmas mantle.   To get the houses to stand, I made cardboard stands and taped them to the back. For everything else I made wire stands and taped them on the back.   After the holidays I donated everything but the Santa and moon to a local retirement home to help brighten up their common area during the winter months.

The Santa and his reindeer came from a fabric panel that I fused to cardboard and cut out.   For the “rope” I used heavy black wire.   The moon was just a corrugated cardboard circle I cutout and painted…it looked pretty realistic if I say so myself. 

Here’s a close up of the kids building a snowman.   You can’t see it but the snowball the little guy on the right is holding is actually glued to the end of a piece of wire to look like he’s throwing it…just a little something unexpected.

Here’s our cricut Christmas decorations I made for the top of our TV stand.   The trees are two pieces glued together with a wire stand glued in between them.

Here’s my cricut nativity scene.   I covered the back window with wax paper and placed a light behind it so it would glow when the lights were turned down.   I had to cut the manger in three pieces.

Here are some of the cricut Christmas tree ornaments I made.   I added wiggly eyes to the snowmen and Santas.  

These are the cricut luminaries I made as a centerpiece for the tables.   I used those fake votives inside them.   They weren’t as bright as candles but the cutouts still glowed through and they looked festive even when the votives weren’t lit.

Here’s my Jolly Ole cricut Santa and his elf in our foyer ready to greet everyone as they arrived.   Santa measures 23” tall.   His hair, beard and mustache are covered with white felt, his mittens are covered in black fleece, and his belt and boots are covered in black vinyl.   He’s got jumbo wiggly eyes and a red pompom on the end of his hat.   He took the most time to make, as I had to cut everything individually (at the right size), make a cardboard form to attach them to, and a cardboard stand.

After Christmas I gave a lot of the decorations to my daughter, but I kept Jolly Ole Santa and placed him center stage on our mantle the following year.

Yep, I used the cricut for the Ho, Ho, Ho and the hanging stars at the windows, which I covered with foil. 

Of all my Christmas decorating themes, my Circuit Christmas was the one I had the most fun creating and received the most compliments.

5 Responses to “A Merry Cricut Christmas”

  1. Marti November 17, 2012 at 8:16 AM #

    That is too cute! Thank you for participating at SHOW-licious Craft Showcase!

    • pegeads November 17, 2012 at 9:38 AM #

      Thanks. I had sooo much fun doing it.

  2. Cathy December 14, 2012 at 11:23 PM #

    I love these decorations. Could you give more details about how you made them? What cartridges you used, etc.

    • pegeads December 15, 2012 at 9:27 AM #

      Thank you so much. I borrowed the cartridges from my niece and unfortunately I don’t know the names. The Santa, elves and kids were from a “paper doll” cartridge. To make the large pieces I used the “real size” button when I cut the pieces. The best thing I can tell you is to do practice cuts on old card stock until you get the sizes you want. You’ll also need to re-enforce the larger ones by adding another back piece (body or cut piece) so they’ll stand up and not droop over. To get them to stand I made stands out of heavy wire and taped it to the back…I hope this helps.

      • KimCJ December 10, 2014 at 5:46 AM #

        I think the houses and votive designs are from “Christmas Cheer”.

Leave a Reply

