What We Do For Our Kids…and Grandkids

13 Nov

My grandson, Caden is turning 2 this Saturday.   He’s really into cars, so my daughter decided to make some race cars from boxes she saw on Pinterest for his car themed birthday party.

She got several boxes, drew the shapes by hand, hot glued them together, and painted them with some leftover paint she got from her Dad…nice having a house painter in the family.  

She brought them over to my house and together we started embellishing them.   I used the cricut machine to make the numbers and headlights, and tape for the stripes and grills.   I printed off the different logos from my computer.   The wheels are CD’s glued to small black paper plates.   She found the small license plates at the Dollar Tree, and we used colored prongs to attach them and the wheels to the cars.

Here’s the McDonald’s and Huggies cars.

Here’s the Browns vs Bengals car… her husband’s a Bengals fan and we’re Brown’s fans.

And last but not least, the Bat Mobile that her son, Kylan, requested. 

We had so much fun decorating these cars…even though it took us over 5 hours!

I can’t wait to see Caden’s face when Papa and Mama bring them to the party!

5 Responses to “What We Do For Our Kids…and Grandkids”

  1. Xvamomma March 14, 2015 at 1:06 PM #

    Good day!

    I am planning a race car themed birthday for my 3 yrs old son and loved your cardboard cars. Do you have plans or a more detail instructable you might be willing to share with me?

    Thanks!

    • pegeads March 15, 2015 at 7:09 AM #

      Thanks. I asked my daughter if she had any instructions (she made them) but she didn’t. Sorry. Maybe you can find some on Pinterest or design your own by looking at the pictures. It’s the decorations that make them. Have fun with the party.

  2. Joellen Scala September 18, 2016 at 1:20 PM #

    These are awesome!! Is there anyway you make plans or I can purchase one?

    • pegeads September 18, 2016 at 1:24 PM #

      Joellen, thank you so much! My daughter made them freehand and doesn’t have a pattern, sorry.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Caden’s 2nd Birthday Party…A Success! « pegsgottado - November 20, 2012

    […] loved the cardboard race cars and the kids had fun “riding” them […]

Leave a Reply

