Turning Halloween Candy Into Christmas Treats

16 Nov

We had very few trick or treaters this year and so I was left with almost a whole bag of Sweetarts.   I didn’t know what to do with them.   I gave some to our grandsons whenever they stopped by, but I still had so many left. 

Then I got the idea of making candy bracelets out of the Sweetarts and giving them to the kids at our family Christmas Eve party. 

I got my trusty drill…every crafter should have one, and cleaned the small drill bit with hot soapy water and dried it.   I placed the  Sweetarts on a new sponge and slowly drilled holes through them.   I have to say the larger Sweetarts were easier to drill than the small ones.

I had several break on me, but I kept drilling and soon I had a bowl full and ready to be strung.

I didn’t have any elastic “thread” so I used the elastic from some new party hats I had, and cut them in half which made 7” pieces.   To make it easy to insert into the small holes, I wrapped tape around the elastic before I cut them in half.    I added a paper clip on the other end and then threaded on the Sweetarts.    Lastly, I tied (triple tied) the elastic ends together, trimmed the excess, and voila, Sweetart candy bracelets. 

They were actually fun to make and I’m sure the kids will enjoy them too.

One Response to “Turning Halloween Candy Into Christmas Treats”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Decorating Will Have To Wait, So I’ll Make My Giant Wrapped Candy Decorations « pegsgottado - December 5, 2012

    […] I made on my circuit machine.   I’ll be filling the candy with some homemade treats like my candy bracelets and granola bars, and and maybe some small toys or […]

Leave a Reply

