Chocolate Covered Pretzels For Caden’s Birthday Party

18 Nov

My daughter asked me to make the cupcakes, my caramel corn and chocolate covered pretzels for my grandson, Caden’s birthday party.   I have to say, chocolate covered pretzels are really good and easy to make.   Here’s how.

I placed a 14 oz. bag of red chocolate wafers in a quart mason jar and sat it in a pan of water.   I heated the water on medium until the chocolate started to melt, then I turned down the temperature to low and continued stirring until the chocolate was completely melted.   I removed the pan from the heat and started covering the pretzel rods.

To cover the pretzels I spooned the chocolate on, turning the pretzel as I was spooning.   Then I shook the pretzel up and down, and back and forth real fast to get the excess chocolate off.   Just holding it and allowing the excess to drip off doesn’t work.   You need to shake, shake, shake it.   If you don’t get the excess chocolate off it will drip down the pretzel…and make a mess.

I then placed the covered pretzels in a stand to dry.   The stand is made from a box top.   The holes were made by cutting an X with a sharp knife and pushing through them with my finger. 

If you want you can add candy sprinkles before placing them in the stand.

I poured the leftover chocolate onto wax paper to harden and then broke it into pieces and stored them in a baggie for future use.

Once they dried I placed the pretzels in narrow bags that I made with my handy sealer and the treat bags my daughter gave me, and closed them with ties. 

Variations

Once the pretzels are dry, you can remove them from the stand and drizzle a different colored chocolate over them and place them in the stand to dry. 

I was able to cover all the whole pretzel rods in the bag, which was 33. 

These chocolate covered pretzels make great gift giving treats for the holidays or any special occasion…why not give them a try.

3 Responses to “Chocolate Covered Pretzels For Caden’s Birthday Party”

  1. Melissa (Just Enough Sugar) November 19, 2012 at 2:17 AM #

    Just wanted to let you know, I like your blog and nominated it for the Liebster Award!

    • pegeads November 20, 2012 at 7:26 AM #

      Thank you so much! Congrats on your nomination.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Caden’s 2nd Birthday Party…A Success! « pegsgottado - November 20, 2012

    […] the goodie table with traffic light rice krispie treats, my red chocolate covered pretzel rods, caramel corn, cotton candy, […]

Leave a Reply

