Iron On Transfer Paper…My New Creative Friend

27 Nov

I’ve come to appreciate how wonderful iron on transfer paper is.   It is so easy to use and the color quality is so much better than I ever thought it would be.

I bought this package at Walmart because it contains iron on transfer paper for light and dark fabrics. 

It’s important that you read the direction sheets and iron your transfers on a hard surface rather than your ironing board.    I use an old cabinet shelf wrapped with paper on a table.    Another important step is to press the transfer as hard as you can for the amount of time specified.

One Of A Kind T-shirts

My first project using iron on transfer paper were these shirts I made my grandsons for our annual Mother’s Day zoo trip this year.    The graphic came from the desktop publishing software (PrintMaster Gold) I have.    I made the pictures the size I wanted then printed it on a sheet of the dark fabric iron on transfer paper and ironed it on (according to the instructions).    The shirts have been washed since and still look good.

 My next iron on transfer project was Kinzley’s onsie.    My daughter saw the saying online and thought it would be a nice surprise for her husband, Dave, on Father’s Day. 

I created the saying with my desktop publishing program and printed it on a sheet of the light fabric iron on transfer paper and ironed it on the onsie (according to the instructions).

My Own Angry Bird “Fabric”

My grandsons loves Angry Birds, so when I was making their seatbelt pillows I decided to make my own Angry Bird fabric using the iron on transfer paper. 

I found the images I wanted online and copied them into my desktop publishing software.   I cropped and sized them, and I went a step further with the Red Bird image by adding the cloud, slingshot strings and orange box with Kylan’s name. 

Here’s a pdf file of the ANGRY BIRD pictures if you would like to create your own Angry Bird fabric.    I added the orange angry bird and removed Kylan’s name from the box.    You can add your own name in the box with a permanent marker once the transfer has cooled. 

Sports Team Logos On Fleece

 I actually used iron on transfers on fleece!   You need to be careful because the heat will matt down the fleece.    Using a pressing cloth and pressing the transfer with just the tip of the iron will help reduce the amount of matting.    Once the transfer cooled I was able to fluff up the fibers with a fabric lint brush I have (not the sticky tape kind).    The sticky lint brush or heavy tape like duct tape or packing tape might work… best to do a test first (that’s what I did). 

Iron on transfer paper (and your computer) is one of the best ways to create your own fabric or embellish premade items like shirts, aprons, vests, totes, purses, pillows, tablecloths…etc. 

I wish I had thought of using iron on transfer paper when I made the hearts for my Mom’s fleece blanket…it would have saved me a lot of time.

3 Responses to “Iron On Transfer Paper…My New Creative Friend”

  1. Kelsey Walker January 4, 2014 at 8:07 PM #

    I was wondering what type of iron transfer paper did you use on the fleece. I’m trying to make tie blankets using fleece and would like to make team logos for the blanket. I would like to know should I use a darker iron transfer or opaque. Ones going to be black and gray for Oakland raiders and one orange and black for cinninati Bengals these are starter try outs so I will no if I like these types of projects

    • pegeads January 4, 2014 at 10:13 PM #

      Hi Kelsey I would use the transfers for dark colors. On fleece make sure you use a cloth over the transfer and try not to iron too much on the fleece. Read the transfer directions. Also, if the fleece gets mashed down from the iron you can try to fluff it up with a lint roller or sticky tape. Hope this helps. Good luck on your projects and thanks for stopping by my blog. Peggy

      Sent from my iPad

      • Ruthie Rayne Clark January 7, 2016 at 12:44 PM #

        Just curious if there’s a brand of iron-on transfer paper that you suggest for fleece. I’m pretty experienced ironing things onto fleece, but have never, EVER used transfer paper. I make braided-edge blankets, and a friend wants me to make one with a patch commemorating her and her hubby’s anniversary. I always use a press-cloth. Thanks for the tips, I was hoping this was possible. My friend will be quite pleased.

Leave a Reply

