My New Christmas Mantle Snowmen

1 Dec

For my Christmas decorations this year I’ve decided on a snowman/winter theme for our family room and kitchen area and a “sweets” theme for the living room and dining room… Lisa, (my niece) I know you follow my blog, so please keep this hush, hush.

The first thing I decorate is my mantle because it’s the focal point. I always like to put my ideas down on paper first because it helps get the creative juices flowing. I knew I wanted to have three large snowmen, and then I got the idea of hanging large mittens instead of stockings and lots of sparkly snowflakes using my cricut machine.

Rather than making three generic snowmen, I got the idea of adding our favorite sport team logos (Kentucky Wildcats basketball, Ohio State football and the Cleveland Browns) to their beanies and scarves. I shared my idea with my husband and he liked it… I knew he would.

My New Sports Team Snowmen

These large snowmen are simple and easy to make, and you can keep them displayed all through the winter months. This picture shows how large they are. The tallest snowman (UK) stands about 20” tall.

I started by making a simple pattern out of paper and cutting them out of white fleece (not polar fleece). I stitched 1/4” along the side and top, leaving the bottom and 4” at the top open. I sewed on the bottom piece and then turned it right side out through the top opening.

I poured in about a pound or so of rice to weigh him down, then filled him with stuffing, and hand stitched the top opening closed.

For the beanies and scarves I found a blue fleece shirt I never wore for the UK snowman and an old winter vest with gray fleece lining for the Ohio State snowman. For the Browns snowman I bought 1/4 yard of brown fleece.

To make the beanie I measured the snowman’s head to determine the size I needed which included 1” for the hem. I stitched the short sides together to form a tube, turned under the bottom to form the hem and stitched it in place. For the top I made a tube from white felt, inserted it inside the beanie with 1/4” sticking out. With strong thread I made a gathering stitch around the beanie about 1 3/4” from the top, pulled the thread ends tightly to gather, wrapped the thread around and tied the threads together.

For the scarf size I wrapped my measuring tape around the neck and cut a 22” x 2” piece of fleece.

Now came the fun part, adding the logos!

I found the logos I wanted online, sized them to fit the beanies and scarves, and printed them on iron on transfer paper. I cut out the transfers and ironed them onto the fleece. I tested a transfer first to see what effect the heat would have on the fleece. I found that it matted down the fibers, so I tried to use ONLY the tip of the iron when applying the transfers. I still got some matting but was able to “fluff up” the fibers with an old fabric lint brush I had.

For his eyes and mouth I used puffy paint. To get the right size and placement, I cut out felt pieces and positioned them with pins. His nose is made from two felt pieces sewed together, turned, glued closed and glued on. To finish him off I found two large buttons and glued them in place.

For the smaller snowmen, I shortened the bottom about 1 inch and used a 1/2” seam allowance instead of 1/4″, and frayed the ends of the scarves.

I can’t wait to decorate my mantle with these guys!

One Response to “My New Christmas Mantle Snowmen”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Decorating Will Have To Wait, So I’ll Make My Giant Wrapped Candy Decorations « pegsgottado - December 5, 2012

    […] clear out the family room and start decorating it for Christmas. I was really excited to get my Sports Snowmen up on the […]

Leave a Reply

