Decorating Will Have To Wait, So I’ll Make My Giant Wrapped Candy Decorations

5 Dec

A few days ago I thought I would clear out the family room and start decorating it for Christmas. I was really excited to get my Sports Snowmen up on the mantle.

Mantle Decorations

I got this far and was deciding where to hang the sparkly snowflakes, when my husband told me that if I still wanted, he would re-paint our family room and kitchen area.   Of course I said yes!   Neither one of us liked the green accent wall and the rest of the walls really needed a fresh coat of paint. 

So, out went the decorations…and just about everything else too. 

With the help of our local Sherwin Williams’s interior decorator, we chose two new colors.   I can’t wait until it’s done! 

So, while I was waiting for paint to dry…literally, I started making my giant wrapped candy decorations to go with my “sweets” theme in the living room and dining area.

Treat Filled Giant Candy Decorations

I wanted something fun for the kids this year and was thinking of making pinatas.   I didn’t want to mess with the paste and paper and all the dry time…I needed to make 5 of them, so I came up with these giant wrapped candies.   They’ll fit right in with the giant round candy decorations I made on my circuit machine.   I’ll be filling the candy with some homemade treats like my candy bracelets and granola bars, and and maybe some small toys or trinkets.

Here’s how I made them.

giant candy decorations how to pic

I bought 14” X 22” posters and cut them to 11” X 22”.   I rolled the posters into 16” tubes and secured them with tape.   I then wrapped them in two sheets of tissue paper and gathered one end and tied it closed.   I shoved the other tissue ends into the tubes…I’ll gather and tie them closed after I fill them with goodies and toys.   For the stripes I simply cut five 11” pieces of 1/2” vinyl tape and placed them evenly around the tube.   I was thinking of putting the kids names on them, but decided not to.   I want them to be surprised when I hand them one to tear open. 

I’ve got the perfect place to hang these colorful giant wrapped candies!   And the kids will never know they’re hiding special treats just for them. 

4 Responses to “Decorating Will Have To Wait, So I’ll Make My Giant Wrapped Candy Decorations”

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode December 5, 2012 at 11:38 AM #

    SOOOOO cute!!! Oh, and I linked to your cupcake post yesterday: http://pillowsalamode.wordpress.com/2012/12/04/cupcake-girl/ :)

    • pegeads December 6, 2012 at 7:56 AM #

      Thank you so much and I really appreciate the link…love your cupcake theme gifts too.

  2. elo38375 December 6, 2012 at 4:19 PM #

    CUTE CUTE CUTE!! I LOVE THIS!

    • pegeads December 7, 2012 at 9:54 AM #

      Thank you! I love coming up with something different, especially for kids. My advise to you is to just keep doing what you’re doing and enjoy the process.

Leave a Reply

