Homemade Kahlua and Irish Creme and Coffee Almond Caramel Corn

7 Jan

homemade kahlua and irish cream

I really like Kahlua and Irish Creme, so when I found these homemade recipes before Christmas, I couldn’t wait to try them.   If they turn out I was going to serve it at our Christmas Eve party and give some as gifts.   I found the Kahlua recipe at http://www.homemadegiftguru.com/homemade-kahlua.html.   There are several different gift-giving ideas on this site too, so check it out.

Homemade Kahlua Recipe

I wanted to test it first so I made half the recipe.    I only simmered my mixture for about an hour rather than the stated 1 1/2 – 2 hours.    My mixture did reduce down into a syrup like consistency.    You need to keep an eye on the temperature.    As it reduced I kept lowering the temperature to keep it at a simmer.   Otherwise it starts to boil and foam up, especially towards the end…so make sure you use a large pot and watch the temperature.

kahlua ready to bottle

I got 2 1/2 cups of Kahlua from half the recipe.   For my bottles, I used the small Kahlua Mudslide bottles. Yes, I had to drink them first…yum!   The bottles hold about 8 ounces, so I was able to fill 2 1/2 of them. I kept them in a cabinet and after a week I just had to give them a taste.   Hmm, it turned out really good!    I served it to my son’s girlfriend and my daughter and they both liked it.   Success!

For Christmas, I made the full recipe.   I didn’t have the full 1/4 cup of instant coffee so I used one cup of brewed coffee and 3 cups water.   After the mixture simmered and cooled I tasted it and decided to add 1/2 teaspoon of coffee extract. I did use “pure” vanilla extract because it does make a difference.

The site also has several Kahlua recipes that I copied and made into a brochure to add to the bottles.   I also made and taped labels onto the bottles…love my 2” tape dispenser.  Here’s a pdf file of the Kahlua Recipes Brochure if you want to make some.

I gave my sister a bottle of Kahlua along with a gift certificate for Christmas. She’s our beautician and doesn’t charge us, so my husband and I always give her something for Christmas.   I think she liked getting the Kahlua because she went around the shop showing everyone.

Coffee Almond Caramel Corn

The site also has this great Coffee Almond Caramel Corn recipe. (http://www.homemadegiftguru.com/caramel-popcorn-recipe.html).   When I read that it contains chocolate covered espresso beans I knew I wanted to make it and gift it with the Kahlua and Irish Creme.   I used my puff corn caramel corn recipe (because it’s the best), and added some coffee extract (instead of the instant coffee), almonds and of course, the chocolate covered coffee beans.  Oh, it turned out really good! My girls (and their spouses) liked it so much they ate it all in one day and has requested more.   Hmm, you think maybe I didn’t give them enough? :)

Homemade Irish Creme

Unfortunately, I can’t recall where I found this recipe.  It turned out really good and was extremely easy to make. The recipe filled 4 small Kahlua bottles, which is about 4 cups. The Jameson Irish whiskey was a little pricey compared to the Vodka…$13.55 for 375ml bottle (about 12 ounces).  Unlike the Kahlua, it does need to be refrigerated.

1 cup heavy cream

14 oz. Sweetened condensed milk

1 1/3 cups Irish Whiskey (like Jameson)

2 Tablespoons chocolate syrup

1 teaspoon instant coffee

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon almond extract

Place all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend for 1 minute.   Store in airtight container(s) in the refrigerator for up to a month.

4 Responses to “Homemade Kahlua and Irish Creme and Coffee Almond Caramel Corn”

  1. Tan June 4, 2015 at 6:28 PM #

    I didn’t know that Kahlua and Irish Creme can be homemade. Thank you for sharing. I may try it one day. Can you tell me more about the instant coffee and chocolate syrup used? If you can show a picture of the brands, it would be best as I can do further read-up on it. I am from Singapore and therefore the brands that you have may not be available here. Hence, a further read-up would help to enable me to find the closest similar type of coffee. A popular instant coffee here would be Nescafe. I am not sure if there is a premier coffee used for Kahlua. Your experience in making Kahlua would help me in this. Thanks.

    • pegeads June 4, 2015 at 7:20 PM #

      Hi Tan. You can use whatever instant coffee and chocolate syrup you can find. Thanks for posting, and let me know how your recipes turn out😀

  2. pegeads February 28, 2013 at 8:58 AM #

    Thank you for the link. These recipes are easy and delicious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 58/365: National Kahlua Day* | Eat My Words - February 28, 2013

    […] Homemade Kahlua and Irish Creme and Coffee Almond Caramel Corn (pegsgottado.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

