Homemade Potato Chips

9 Jan

potato chips

I wanted to try making some potato chips, so I searched online and found this microwave recipe http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Potato-Chips/Detail.aspx.

Slice and soak potatoes

To slice the potatoes (used two) I tried using my hand shredder, but it sliced them too thin and uneven, so I sliced them really thin by hand.   I put the slices in a bowl of cold water, swished them around and let them set for about 30 minutes to remove the starch.   Then I drained them and dried them well with paper towels.

microwave potatoes

Instead of coating the slices in oil, I did what a reviewer recommended, which was to oil my microwave plate, lay the slices on it and then spray them with Pam.   I microwaved them, checking every 30 seconds until they got a light golden brown color.   They only took about 2 minutes and actually turned out crisp and crunchy.

fried potato chips

I microwaved another batch and then decided to deep fry the rest in my Fry Daddy.   See how nice and golden they turned out…and crunchy too!  I just sprinkled them with salt.  Maybe next time I’ll try something different like Parmesan cheese and garlic salt or something spicy…hmm.

Microwave and Fried Chips

Here’s a picture of both the microwaved and deep fried chips so you can see the difference.   I would have shown more but my husband ate all but these few microwaved ones while my back was turned…ugh!  

Caden eating chips

I thought both versions turned out nice and crispy, and my grandson, Caden, enjoyed them too. 

Leave a Reply

