My Chocolate Covered Rice Krispie Bites

3 Feb

My grand kids were coming over to spend the night, so I checked to see what treats I had on hand.   Other than some candy, I found one Rice Krispie Treat.   I figured I could give each of the boys a half, but then I got an idea.   I had some melting chocolate and thought, why not cut the Rice Krispie Treat into small pieces and cover them with the chocolate? So, that’s what I did.

Chocolate covered rice krispie bites

Didn’t they turn out cute?  Now, both boys can have three of these scrumptious looking treats rather than a half of a plain, boring Rice Krispie Treat.   Which would YOU choose?  They were so easy to make…here’s what I did.

cut treats_melt chocolate

I cut the Rice Krispie Treat into six pieces.   I put some of the melting chocolate in a glass bowl, put it in the microwave for about 1 1/2 minutes, checking and stirring every 30 seconds or so  until it was completely melted.

dip in chocolate and let dry

 Using a toothpick, I rolled the pieces in the chocolate and laid them on parchment paper to dry.

dip top_add sprinkles

 Then I melted some white chocolate, dipped the tops in it, added some sprinkles and let them dry.   Easy Peasy!

Chocolate covered rice krispie bites

Once they were completely dry, I put them in these mini cupcake holders I had leftover from Christmas. 

These Chocolate Covered Rice Krispie Bites would make a great treat idea for a shower or birthday party.   They can be covered and decorated in a variety of colors to match any theme.   What’s even better is that one box of Rice Krispie Treats will make 72 bites!   That’s a lot of bites for the price…and the melting chocolate isn’t expensive either.   They come in a variety of colors and flavors, and any leftover chocolate can be cooled on wax paper and stored in a baggie for future use.

Leave a Reply

