My New Spring Valances

10 May

After spring cleaning comes spring decorating.   There’s nothing like Spring to lift you up and brighten your mood.   And it’s the perfect time to put some Spring into your homes’ décor.

Family Room Valances

I made these valances for our family room from fabric I found at Joanns.  They go perfect with the wall colors and really brightens up the whole room!  The fabric is actually outdoor fabric.  It’s stiffer than home décor fabric which worked well for these straight valances.

Dinnette Window Valances

Since we have an open floor plan, I used the same fabric to make valances for the kitchen and dinette windows to unify the area.   I made these dinette window valances so I could attach them to the existing (shear) tension rods.  Here’s how I did it.

Backside of dinnette valance

I made the valance the width I needed and the length I wanted (about 13”), PLUS an additional 3” at the top that I folded to the back (for the header and rod casing).   I stitched across the top 1 1/2” from the fold to make the header, and then stitched across the bottom edge only about an inch to make a side casing for the shear rod.   I hung the shears from the top header casing rather than the rod casing, and then inserted the shears up under the valance back opening and inserted the rod ends through the short side casings.   The fabric was stiff enough that I didn’t need to tack the back opening closed. 

I’m really happy with the way they turned out and they definitely brought some much needed color next to the plain vertical blinds.   The next thing I want to do is recover our dinette chairs if I can find some nice and durable fabric…and the money.  

2 Responses to “My New Spring Valances”

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode May 10, 2013 at 10:03 AM #

    How PRETTY!!!! I just love that fabric! :)

    • pegeads May 10, 2013 at 10:54 AM #

      Thanks, I do too. It’s so vibrant and cheery.

Leave a Reply

