My Mini Orange Cupcakes and Orange Icing

20 Jun

My husband volunteered me to make a desert for a golf outing he was playing in.  Since there was going to be about 75 golfers, I decided to make these mini orange cupcakes.

Mini Orange Cupcakes with Orange Icing

Mini Orange Cupcakes

The recipe made 88 mini cupcakes

1 Yellow cake mix

1/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon orange zest

1 cup orange juice

1/2 cup oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

4 large eggs

Note: I just bought 1 large orange for the zest and didn’t get close to a tablespoon, so I added about 1/4 teaspoon of orange extract.

Combine cake mix, sugar and orange zest in a large bowl.   Add orange juice, oil, vanilla, (orange extract) and eggs.   Mix on low speed for 1 minute, then beat for 2 minutes at medium speed.

Fill cupcake papers 2/3 full and bake at 350 degrees for 11 -12 minutes until golden and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cool cupcakes in the pan for 5 minutes, then place on rack to cool completely.   I wasn’t going to frost them until the next morning, so I put them in containers and covered them loosely.

Orange Butter Cream Icing

2 sticks very soft butter (I laid them out the night before)

6 – 8 cups powdered sugar

1/2 cup orange juice

1 teaspoon orange zest (I only had about 1/8 tsp)

12 drops yellow food coloring

4 drops of red food coloring

Place butter, 4 cups of sugar, juice and zest in a large mixing bowl.   Beat until smooth and creamy.   Beat in food coloring, then add more sugar, a little at a time, until icing is the right consistency.

Even though I didn’t use the amount of orange zest called for, the cupcakes and icing had a nice orange flavor and everyone enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

