Campfire Grate Bag…Last Minute Sewing Project

27 Jun

campfire grate bag

My husband and I are going camping with our daughter, son-in-law, and grandchildren.  While planning our trip, my daughter said it would be nice to have some kind of bag to store the campfire grate in.   I knew it would be easy to make,  so I looked and found some old upholstery fabric that would work just fine.  I cut one long piece of fabric (for the front and back) about 4″ wider and about 6″ longer than the grate.   I turned the top and bottom ends under 1 1/2″ and stitched in place.  I made and sewed two 1 1/2″ wide fabric strips and stitched them to the outside for extra support.  I folded the piece in half, stitched the sides and boxed the bottom.  I zigzagged the seams together to keep the fabric from fraying.  I sewed on two 1 1/4″ wide handles (about 21″ long) and Velcro to the inside between the handles.

campfire grate half in bag

I placed the grate into a large black trash bag and slid it into the bag and closed it…perfect!

Leave a Reply

