Dinosaur Masks For The Boys

26 Aug

kylan wearing his dinosaur mask

My grandson Kylan had been asking me to make him another Batman mask.   Unfortunately the craft foam one I made him didn’t hold up, so I decided I’d make him one from fabric.  While I was at it I thought I would make him and his brother this dinosaur mask.

dinosaur mask drawing

The first thing I did was draw the mask.  

copy_trace_cutout

Next, I made 3 copies of the drawing so I could cut out templates for the different pieces I wanted to cut from colored felt (back with frills, horns (3) and front).

dinosaur mask pieces laid out

Here’s the cut felt pieces laid out. I cut 2 of each horn because I wanted to stuff them to make them stick out.

glue top to back around holes

I applied fabric glue to the back of the front piece around the holes and then laid it on top of the back piece.  I pinned the elastic between the front and back pieces at each side, and then stitched the front and back pieces together using a blanket stitch.  For the eye openings, I pinned around them, then cut out the back, and blanket stitched along the opening.

mask horns

For the horns, I blanket stitched the 2 pieces together, leaving the bottom open, stuffed it with batting, and blanket stitched the opening closed.  I placed the stuffed horns where I wanted them and stitched them in place along the bottom and a couple stitches up the sides. 

I think the masks turned out good.  The boys liked them, and of course Kylan just had to ask for a T-REX mask…his favorite dinosaur.

3 Responses to “Dinosaur Masks For The Boys”

  1. shanen October 7, 2015 at 11:43 AM #

    Hi this post is probably old but in your descriptions you mentioned making a trex mask wondering if you did and how it turned out, if you have any pics? would love to make this for my 2 year old and my 5 year old just asked for trex thanks!

    • pegeads October 7, 2015 at 12:37 PM #

      Shanon, no I never did do a Trex mask. Sorry.

      • shanen October 7, 2015 at 12:40 PM #

        Thats okay thank you I will give it a try anyways :-)

Leave a Reply

