Kylan and Caden’s Completed Halloween Costumes

26 Sep

Kylans Finished Pterodactyl Halloween Costume

Here’s Kylan’s completed Pterodactyl Halloween Costume and Dinosaur Egg basket.   The best part was that I already had all the fabric in my stash!   The metallic looking animal print fabric I used for his hands, feet and chest was leftover from a clutch purse I made my oldest daughter years ago.   It was perfect for this project.   Just goes to show that it pays to keep your scraps of fabric!

Kylans Pterodactyl Costume FRONT VIEW

Here’s Kylan in his costume…front view.

Kylans Pterodactyl Costume SIDE VIEW

Here’s the side view.  Here’s the Pterodactyl Costume Pattern and Instructions

Cadens Triceratops Halloween Costume

Here’s Caden’s completed Triceratops Halloween Costume and Dinosaur Egg basket.   I did have to purchase the felt.   Like Kylan’s, his eyes are also the “glow in the dark” ping pong balls.  I wasn’t sure what color of felt to purchase to go with his sweats, so I asked my oldest daughter, Chrystal, who has a degree in Interior Design.  She gave me several options and Katie and I decided on orange.  We’re so glad we did because the colors really look good together. 

Cadens Triceratops Costume FRONT VIEW

Here’s Caden in his costume…front view.

Cadens Triceratops Costume SIDE VIEW

Here’s the side view.  Triceratops Costume Pattern and Instructions

I’m REALLY happy with the way they turned out, and the boys can’t wait to wear them on Halloween!

I still have Kinzley’s costume to finish.  She’s going to be a Baby Girl Triceratops.  I’ve got everything done except determining where to attach her face, tutu and tail.  I can’t wait to show you her costume when it’s done!

16 Responses to “Kylan and Caden’s Completed Halloween Costumes”

  1. Emmely September 26, 2013 at 1:05 PM #

    Wow, those are really great costumes! I think you did an amazing job on them, you have some very lucky grandchildren. Did you make the patterns for the heads yourself?

    • pegeads September 26, 2013 at 1:10 PM #

      Thank you so much. Yes I made the pattern pieces. They weren’t that hard. I did make a test triceratops face to get the right size and figure out how to get the frill to stand up…used a strip of plastic canvas.

      • Becca Kohn October 6, 2014 at 2:14 PM #

        Would you consider selling the pattern you made for the triceratops head? If so, please email me! Becca.elizabeth AT gmail – my 2 1/2yr old wants to be a triceratops to badly, but I also have a 2mo old and don’t have the time this year to flesh out a pattern myself! I would really appreciate it!

      • pegeads October 7, 2014 at 11:13 AM #

        Hi Becca!
        I just finished creating a PDF file with the pattern pieces and instructions and added it to my blog. I should have done this last year when it was still fresh in my mind…oh well. Thanks for asking and I hope the instructions are clear enough for you to follow.

  2. Pillows A-La-Mode September 30, 2013 at 3:08 PM #

    These are just amazing!!! :)

  3. Nana Betsy October 11, 2013 at 10:42 PM #

    Awesome costumes! My grandson wants to be a pterodactyl for Halloween. Can I ask where you got the eyes?

    • pegeads October 12, 2013 at 7:29 AM #

      Sure, I got them at Walmart. They call them table tennis balls. Have fun and I know he’ll enjoy his costume.

  4. carol September 16, 2014 at 8:20 PM #

    Hi, the costumes are wonderful! My daughter wants to be a Pterodactyl this Halloween. You’ve inspired me! I love the egg basket idea as well. Was wondering if you have directions on how to make that? Also, how did you fasten the handles to the basket? thank you! :)

    • pegeads September 17, 2014 at 7:08 AM #

      Thank

    • pegeads September 17, 2014 at 7:23 AM #

      Carol, thanks. The egg baskets were made from paper mâché. Just blow up a 12″ balloon, cover it with newspaper pieces dipped in a flour, water and a little salt mixture. Let each layer dry overnight. You’ll want to add 3-4 layers. Leave the top of the balloon uncovered. When you’re done with the layers and it’s completely dry, bust the balloon and remove. Cut the top so it looks like a cracked egg. To paint, I used acrylic paints and a sponge brush. Choose a light background color. When dry, pounce on a darker color with a sponge so it looks speckled. For the handle, I used a piece of boning inside a strip of fabric to match the outfit. To add the handle to the basket, cut a wide slit in the egg with an exactly knife, insert the handle end through the slit and hand stitch the end to the handle…hope this helps! Oh, I also painted inside the egg about 3″ – 4″ to cover the newsprint.

  5. Suzanne Nam March 10, 2015 at 1:54 AM #

    thanks so much for posting this! i used boning to make the frill stand up (on both the bottom and top edges). brilliant idea to use ping pong balls for eyes. great pattern. thanks again!

    • pegeads March 10, 2015 at 12:29 PM #

      Thanks Suzanne! Glad it worked out for you…would love to see a picture :)

  6. Pam @Threading My Way August 21, 2016 at 6:12 AM #

    WOW!!! Awesome Halloween costumes. The baskets are brilliant!!!

Leave a Reply

