My Spicy Cheddar Jalapeno Bagels

17 Oct

My Spicy Cheddar Jalapeno Bagels

I love my bread machine!  I use it to make the dough for whatever I want to make, like breads, buns, rolls, pizza crust, etc. It does all the hard work of mixing and kneading for me. You can’t beat it! 

I wanted to try my hand at making some bagels, so I looked online and found this basic bread machine recipe.  It got a lot of good reviews and seemed pretty easy.

Also, before starting I watched this video to get an idea of how to form, boil and bake them. The video was short and sweet and I only needed to watch it once.

Spicy Cheddar Jalapeno Bagels

I decided to make these spicy bagels to give to my son-in-law for his birthday.  He LOVES spicy foods (and bagels) and these definitely turned out spicy. 

I modified the basic recipe as follows:

Bagel Ingredients

1 cup warm water (110 degrees F)

1 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons sugar

4 tablespoons chopped jalapenos

2 1/2 cups bread flour (not all purpose flour)

3/4 cups whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon red chili flakes

1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1 package active dry yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons)

place ingredients in pan as listed

Place the ingredients in the bread pan in the order listed above.

select Dough option_prep time

Select the dough option (08) and press Start.  It will take 1 hour and 28 minutes until the dough is done…perfect time to get things ready for the forming, boiling and baking steps.

prepare for forming boiling and baking

FORMING/RISING STEPS:  Pastry sheet lightly floured, knife, wooden spoon for making the holes, lightly greased cookie sheet and clean towel

BOILING STEP:  Pan with 3 quarts water and 3 tablespoons of brown or regular sugar, slotted spatula, cookie sheet with clean towel

BAKING STEP:  Cookie sheet with parchment paper, egg wash (1 egg white plus 1 tablespoon water), cheese and chili flakes for topping.  I was going to use corn meal to lay the bagels on but decided to use parchment paper instead.

Dough is done

Here’s how the dough looked when it was done.  You can see pieces of Jalapeno and chili flakes.

lay dough on floured surface_cover_rest

Place the dough on a lightly floured surface, cover and let rest for 5 minutes.

cut into equal pieces

Cut dough in equal pieces.  I thought 8 would be good, but 12 would have been better…I ended up with some big bagels!

form bagels

Roll each piece into a ball, flatten, insert the end of a wooden spoon in the center, then using fingers and thumb, stretch open the hole to form the bagel.

lay bagels on lightly greased sheet

Lay the formed bagels on the greased cookie sheet.  You want the holes pretty large, as they will close up when boiled and baked.

cover bagels and let rise 20 minutes

Cover and let rise 20 minutes in a warm place (I turned my oven on 170 degrees for about 2 minutes, then turned it off).  I find this works the best.  Start boiling the 3 quarts of water with 3 tablespoons of brown or white sugar about 6 minutes or so before the end of the rise time.

risen bagels

After the 20 minutes, they’re ready to boil.  The bagels should not be doubled in size.

boil bagels 30 seconds each side

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Gently remove bagels from the cookie sheet and place in boiling water.  Boil each side for about 30 seconds.  Boiling the bagels sets the crust before they are baked. The longer you boil them the thicker and chewier the crust, but they won’t rise as much when baked.  I just counted to 30 then turned and counted to 30 again.

remove from water and lay on cloth

Remove bagels from the water with a slotted spatula and flip over onto a clean towel (by placing the top side down they’re less likely to stick to the towel).  Continue boiling the remainder of the bagels.

move to sheet brush with egg wash and toppings

Move the boiled bagels from the towel to the prepared cookie sheet (with parchment paper or sprinkled with corn meal). Brush with the egg wash and top with red chili flakes and cheese. Bake in 375 degree preheated oven for 17 – 20 minutes or until well browned.

finished spicy cheddar jalapeno bagels

Allow to cool on a cooling rack.  If you don’t plan on eating them right away, cut them in half and freeze.  

My husband and I split one last night…I just had to try one.  Yep, they’re spiiiicy!  Dave will love them!!

One Response to “My Spicy Cheddar Jalapeno Bagels”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baggels home made | Mom cooking at home - October 25, 2013

    […] My Spicy Cheddar Jalapeno Bagels (pegsgottado.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

