Adding More Fruits and Vegetables To My Diet…with my NutriBullet!

24 Oct

NutriBullet box

My husband and I don’t eat as many fruits and vegetables as we should, so I decided to buy us a NutriBullet.  I like the idea of being able to get the full nutritional benefits from a variety of fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds by just drinking them. Unlike a juicer which just extracts the juice, the NutriBullet pulverizes the whole foods into their most absorbable state, making digesting and utilizing their nutrition effortless for the body.

NutriLiving site

In addition to getting the user manual and cookbook, I also signed up to access the NutriLiving website and got 6 months FREE.   It has lots of recipes and information about different fruits, vegetables, nuts, spices and their nutritional value and affects on the body.  I can’t wait to try out some of the nuts, berries and spices they mention.

NutriBulletBlog

There’s also the NutriBullet Blog that has additional recipes and information that’s helpful.

morning nutrablast ing

Here’s the morning NutriBlast I made for us.  It has spinach, kale, bananas, strawberries, almonds (raw) and some protein powder and water.

blended morning nutrablast

And here it is all blended up. I have to say it wasn’t visually appealing, but it tasted fine. I would never have known I was drinking spinach and kale…never had kale before. 

BENEFITS:

Spinach: Blood pressure proteins (peptides), cancer fighting phyltonutrients, and bone building molecules of vitamin K

Kale: Has very high concentrations of carotenoids and flavanoids (antioxidants) proven to aid in the prevention of bladder, breast, colon, ovary and prostate cancers. Also contains a wide variety of vitamins and minerals that boost cardiovascular health and detoxify the system.

Bananas: Contain potassium, fiber, manganese and vitamin C. They assist with sleep and enhance immune function, and also assist with the absorption and preservation of calcium in the body.

Strawberries: Loaded with heart-protecting, anti-cancer, and anti-inflammatory phenols.

Almonds: Rich in monounsaturated fats, which, when included in the diet, can help reduce the risk of heart disease up to 30%! They’re also high in heart-healthy magnesium and blood pressure-regulating potassium. 

Wow, all that good stuff in just one drink! 

Kale-carrot-apple mid afternoon nutrablast

Here’s a mid-afternoon NutriBlast I tried…kale, carrots and apple. It was rather thick with pulp, but I just added more water to make it easier to drink. 

Carrots are rich in beta-carotene, Vitamin C, B, E and K, iron and fiber. Apples are rich in antioxidants, helpful in fighting heart disease, weight gain and high cholesterol. The fiber contained in apples is vital in preventing cholesterol reabsorption. 

What’s nice is that I can buy whatever fruit is on sale, cut it up, freeze it, and it’s ready when I want it. Kroger had there whole pineapple on sale for $1.99. It was sooo sweet and juicy! I cut it up and froze half of it. I’m using it in my husbands NutriBlast because it’s good for inflammation and supplies 76.5% of the daily recommended amount of manganese…a trace mineral essential for generating energy and antioxidants.  WOW! 

As far as vegetables, now I can experiment and try a whole variety of greens and veggies that I would never have thought of trying before and get all their valuable nutrients in the process. 

What could be easier?

Leave a Reply

