My Paper Christmas Wreaths

27 Nov

Wrapping Paper Christmas Wreath

My theme for Christmas this year is going to be “presents”, and this Christmas wreath made from double sided wrapping paper fits the theme perfectly!  I wish I could take credit for the design, but I can’t.  I found it at ribbonsandglue and just knew I had to make one.  

Here’s how I made my wrapping paper wreath:

Materials:

Double sided wrapping paper (3 – 4 rolls, or however many designs you want)

Double stick tape

Glue gun

Cardboard (for a 12” circle)

Christmas bulbs

cut wrapping paper strips

Cut the wrapping paper into 6” wide strips.

Cut 6 x 6 and 4 x 6 cone pieces

From the strips of wrapping paper, you’ll need to cut 16 – 6” X 6” pieces and 16 – 4” X 6” pieces.  Depending upon how tight you make the cone bottoms, you may need more.  I made my bottoms open about a 1/2” rather than pointed.

Apply double stick tape roll into cone

Make cones from each piece.  I added a piece of double stick tape on a corner, rolled it into a cone, removed the backing and sealed it.  You can also use a hot glue gun, but I found this to be a lot easier.

make 6 inch circle and position cones

Cut a 12” cardboard circle.  I used one of the cake boards I had left from making my mini cupcake stand project. Draw a 6” circle in the center.   Arrange the 6” cones along the marked line and secure it to the cardboard with double stick tape or hot glue.

wreath is ready for the bulbs

Arrange and then tape or glue the 4” cones in between the 6” cones.

Glue various size Christmas bulbs in center

Hot glue a variety of Christmas bulbs in the center as desired.  You can get a canister of varied sized ornaments at Walmart at a reasonable price.

Punch hole in cardboard and add wire hanger

Determine where to apply a hanger, then punch a hole in the cardboard and add a wire hanger.  That’s it!  Now I can’t wait to hang it on my mantle for the holidays.   

wall paper wreath

Here’s one I made from some embossed wallpaper I had.  To give it the shimmer, I wiped the cones with  gold paint.  I filled the center with glittery poinsettias I cut from an unused centerpiece.

painted wall paper cones

Here’s a close up showing the painted and unpainted cones.

wreath over mantle

Here’s my wrapping paper wreath over my mantle…so blessed to have all these stockings to fill!

wallpapper wreath at night

Here’s the wallpaper wreath Christmas display.

These paper wreaths are really FUN to make.  They make wonderful gifts too.

KTs Christmas wreath

Here’s another wrapping paper one I made to give to my daughter to hang in her new home for Christmas.

I’m also making one for my Mother for a Christmas gift using scrapbook paper in colors to go with her decor. And instead of adding bulbs in the center I’m adding a multi-layered sign that says “MOM”. 

5 Responses to “My Paper Christmas Wreaths”

  1. Holly November 30, 2013 at 11:10 AM #

    Gorgeous! I saw the link back show up in my blog stats, thanks so much for the credit! Seriously, gorgeous. Happy Holidays! Holly ;-)

    • pegeads November 30, 2013 at 12:48 PM #

      Thank you so much Holly, I really like the way it turned out. I several others using scrapbook paper and they turned out really nice too…their family gifts so I couldn’t include them in my post.

  2. Vee Washington December 7, 2013 at 2:46 AM #

    Love it! I needed a quick in expensive wreath to hang on my classroom door. All teachers were to hang a unique wreath on their door. Thanks for such a gorgeous wreath project.

    • pegeads December 7, 2013 at 8:15 AM #

      Thank you. It’s easy and fun to make…I ended up making six of them! I’d love to see yours.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peg’s Gotta Do! | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE - December 2, 2013

    […] Peg’s blog yet, you must check out her fun creations, such as this hot cocoa gift cone bag, paper Christmas wreath, cupcake stand, bird seed wreath, and award-winning triceratops costume. She also has a brand new […]

Leave a Reply

