Bread Machine Whole Wheat Buns

21 Jan

Bread Machine Whole Wheat Buns

I thought I would make some homemade buns to go with my husband’s famous burgers.  Since the recipe makes 12, I made 6 hamburger and 6 hotdog.

Bread Machine Whole Wheat Buns

I wanted to make them a little healthier so I used whole wheat flour, replaced some of the oil with unsweetened applesauce, and used honey instead of sugar.

1 egg at room temperature

1/8 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/8 cup Olive Oil

1 cup warm 2% Milk

1/8 cup Honey

1 1/2 cups Whole Wheat Flour

1 1/2 cups Bread Flour

1 tsp. Salt

1 package dry active yeast

I placed all the liquid ingredients into my bread machine pan first, then added the flours and salt.  I made a well in the flour and added the yeast.

I set the machine on “dough” and let it do its thing. 

Once the dough was done, I removed it from the pan and laid it on a floured board, covered it and let it sit for 10 minutes.

The dough was very light and fluffy, so I had to add some flour so I could handle it and cut into 12 equal pieces.

I formed the pieces into flat balls for the burger buns and long narrow tubes for the hotdog buns, and place them on lightly greased cookie sheets, covered them with a towel and let them rise for an hour.  (I like to turn my oven on until it gets a little warm and then turn it off and place the cookie sheets inside to rise).

After they had risen…and boy do they rise, I removed them from the oven and preheated it to 350 degrees.

I baked them for about 15 minutes, until they were nice and browned.

They turned out really good!  So much better than the store bought buns.

Because there isn’t any preservatives, I kept out what we were going to eat within a few days and froze the rest.

Leave a Reply

