My Decoupaged Tray Has Really Come In Handy!

23 Mar

decoupaged wooden tray

My husband and I have been caring for our son who is recovering from knee surgery. For his meals (like every 3 hours…that boy can put down some food) we use this wooden tray that I decoupaged several years ago. 

The first thing I did was clean it and then sand it.

close up wooden tray

Rather than using paper, I used this fabric that had these vegetable panels. I washed the fabric and dried it without fabric softener. Then I brushed on a thin layer of Mod Podge on the front and back, allowing each side to dry. This kept the fabric from fraying when I cut the panels out. 

Next, I brushed the tray with Mod Podge as well as the back of each panel, laid them on the tray, and smoothed them out with a wooden roller to get as many of the air bubbles out as possible. For the air bubbles that did form, I made a small slit in them with a razor blade and pressed out the air. I brushed more Mod Podge over the whole tray and allowed to dry overnight. 

Once dry, I lightly sanded it and applied another coat of Mod Podge. I repeated the process of sanding and applying more Mod Podge.   If I remember right, I did this about 3 or 4 times.

urethane

The last thing I did was apply several coats of urethane, letting each coat dry and wet sanding it between coats with #400 grit sandpaper. 

Even though it took some time to do, it was well worth it.  The wooden tray has held up for years and cleans up easily with a damp cloth.

2 Responses to “My Decoupaged Tray Has Really Come In Handy!”

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode March 23, 2014 at 11:54 AM #

    I love your tray!

Leave a Reply

