Chocolate Covered Ice Cream Sandwiches

5 Aug

chocolate covered ice cream sandwiches

Here’s a quick and easy ice cream treat for kids of all ages…chocolate covered ice cream sandwiches. 

insert sticks and freeze

The first thing I did was insert Popsicle sticks into each ice cream sandwich and put them in the freezer for an hour. For the kids I cut a regular ice cream sandwiches into thirds.

melt wilton chocolate

Next I melted some of the light cocoa Wilton dipping chocolate in the microwave.  I added a teaspoon of oil to thin it so it would spread better.

spread on chocolate

I spooned on the chocolate and spread it around the ice cream sandwiches and placed them back into the freezer.

decorate as desired

I melted some leftover pink chocolate, put it in a ziplock bag, snipped off the corner and decorated each sandwich.  I put them in the freezer for a few minutes and then put them in poly bags and back into the freezer until it was time to serve them. 

I want to point out that the regular ice cream sandwiches I cut started melting as I was covering them.  I had no problem with the big round sandwiches. 

Mmm, they were really good! You should give them a try!

Leave a Reply

