Grandkids Minion Halloween Costumes

14 Oct

Minion CostumesHere’s Kylan, Caden and Kinzley in their Minion Halloween costumes and their Minion trick or treat bags I created. I’ll tell you how to make them in a later post. I have to say they turned out so much better than I thought.

The boys shirts were purchased and dyed yellow…couldn’t find yellow shirts anywhere. Their overalls and gloves were also purchased. For their logos I printed them on transfer paper and ironed them onto square pieces of heavy interfacing and hand stitched them to their overalls so they could be removed.

For Kinzley’s outfit, I made the front bib (with the logo), added straps and sewed it onto a purchased black skirt. After I was done, Kylan told me her logo was wrong. It was suppose to be the “M” logo…oops!

I made the boys fleece hats because we couldn’t find any yellow hats. We inserted black pipe cleaners for the hair. For the eye goggles, my daughter, Katie, found this great tutorial…here.

Both boys wanted one eye, so that made our work a lot easier. I added a top and bottom eyelid on Caden’s to make it different from Kylan’s. I also used permanent markers to make the iris’s, and used black elastic for the straps instead of nylon strapping.

Purple minion hatFor Kinzley’s hair, we cut long strands of purple yarn and unraveled them. Then I took several strands and tied them together with the knot in the middle and sewed the knots onto the purchased hat. Then I took shorter strands, tied them together, brushed them and sewed them along the front.

Minion Halloween Costume pictureHere’s my favorite picture…me with Monster Minion Kinzley scaring her Minion brothers!

The kids liked their outfits so much they didn’t want to take them off! Yea, my job is done!

 

6 Responses to “Grandkids Minion Halloween Costumes”

  1. whimziequiltz October 14, 2014 at 1:56 PM #

    ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS! (I know you aren’t supposed to use all caps online, but really, this deserves the shout-out)

    • pegeads October 14, 2014 at 3:43 PM #

      Wow. Thank you so much!

  2. Michelle October 21, 2014 at 12:09 AM #

    Love this, how did you make the candy totes? Are those garbage cans???

    • pegeads October 21, 2014 at 9:45 AM #

      Hi Michelle. Thanks so much! Your comment came just in time, as I just posted my Minion trick or treat bags…trash cans. Check it out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Minions Costume - maskerix.com - March 19, 2017

    […] Credit […]

  2. Minion Kostüm selber machen | maskerix.de - March 19, 2017

    […] Quelle […]

Leave a Reply

