Caden’s Construction Birthday Party

16 Jan

For my grandson, Caden’s 4th birthday this past November, his mom and I put together a Construction Party for him. As always, we went overboard, but hey, it’s just so much fun to do and everyone enjoys it.

construction invitationsKatie made these super cute dump truck invitations from card stock.

construction party front door

For the front door, Katie made this orange extension cord wreath she saw on Pinterest, and the sign was made with her cricut machine.

construction vests_toolbelts_hats

Once inside, each child was given a personalized Construction vest, tool belt and plastic construction hat. I had a lot of pink felt and so I decided to make the girls vests pink. Further down you’ll see the favors we made to put inside the tool belts :)

punch container for the construction crew

We used my husbands orange construction cooler for the kids punch and personalized yellow sippy cups. For the gifts, Katie used a wheel barrel…sorry I didn’t get a picture.

construction party snack table

For the goodie table, we had chocolate donut spare tires, orange jello barricade cups, yellow and orange chocolate hard hats, orange cupcakes, chocolate pudding topped with oreo “dirt” and chocolate rocks (in the dump truck)…

marshmallow paint brushes

Chocolate dipped Marshmallow paint brushes on top of a decorated paint can,

chocolate coins

Chocolate coins (day wages) in a toy bulldozer. Katie bought the large construction vehicles and then gave them to Caden afterwards.

construction birthday cake

and of course this construction birthday cake Katie made…from scratch.

inside the construction cake

Here’s what a slice of it looks like…neat, huh?

construction Food Truck

For the food table, I kinda went over the top. I made this cabinet Construction Food Truck from felt, where we served: Ham and Cheese and Turkey and Cheese sandwiches, hotdogs, pasta cups and variety of chips.

help opening presentsOnce everyone ate, it was time for Caden to open his presents…with a little help from his sister.

Construction Party Tool Belt FavorsWhen the party was over, each child received 2 crayon tools and “construction” coloring cards to put in their tool belts to take home.

Kinzleys construction vest and toolbeltThese tool belts were super easy and no sew!  Here’s the No Sew Kids Construction Tool belt instructions.

Yep, it was another successful and fun birthday party!

 

7 Responses to “Caden’s Construction Birthday Party”

  1. Becca January 18, 2015 at 12:00 PM #

    As always, I love what you come up with! What did you use to edge the vests?

    • pegeads January 18, 2015 at 12:56 PM #

      Hi Becca, and thanks. I used 1/4″ double fold bias tape around the vest edges. It finishes them nicely and makes the colors pop!

      • Becca Kohn February 9, 2015 at 3:49 PM #

        Would you ever consider a post with a tutorial on using bias tape? I have used it in the past (and still do) but not without much frustration! My current method is to fold the bias tape around the edge and hold in place using wonder clips. Then, when I sew, I pretty much just do a lot of hoping that I’m catching both sides as I go!

  2. pegeads February 9, 2015 at 4:50 PM #

    High Becca. I sew my binding the same way:) I do make sure that the narrower side is on top and I don’t stitch real close to the edge, and I stretch it slightly, especially around curves. There is another way of applying it but it takes too many steps. You can find the info online I’m sure.

    • Becca Kohn February 10, 2015 at 4:04 PM #

      Eh, seems like I’m in good company with my current method! Thanks for taking the time to reply :)

  3. Gina February 19, 2017 at 5:39 PM #

    Your party ideas are adorable! What pattern did you use to make the vests? I am looking for something exactly like this for my grandson’s birthday. Thanks!

    • pegeads February 19, 2017 at 6:46 PM #

      Hi Gina. I found it on the I internet but can’t recall where. I’d search for free child’s vest pattern. Glad you liked the parties. We enjoyed throwing them :)

Leave a Reply

