Kick Your Cold or Flu With Elderberry

22 Jan

ELDERBERRY and honey syrupWhat I’m about to tell you may be hard to believe, but it’s the truth.

Last Tuesday afternoon I wasn’t feeling right. I felt I might be coming down with a cold. By Wednesday, my nose was all stuffed up and I began sneezing and coughing.

I remembered reading about how good elderberry was for colds and flu, and had even printed out several recipes for elderberry syrup. I thought now would the perfect time to try it, so I went to the health food store and bought some dried elderberry and made a simple syrup using just the elderberries and honey. I took my first dose.

Thursday, I stayed in bed…all day. My head was so congested. I had a really bad headache, had to blow my nose several times an hour, had brief episodes of nausea, and lots of coughing. Yep, I definitely had a cold!

I did everything I could think of to feel better: took ibuprofen, applied my cold and flu vapor rub on my throat, chest and temples, drank warm teas with honey, sprayed my room with essential oils, and took a dose of the elderberry syrup every 4 hours.

Friday morning, I felt like a different person! I couldn’t believe it!

My sinus pressure, headache and congestion…GONE!

Runny/stuffed up nose…practically gone. I had to blow my nose maybe once every several hours. My coughing and sneezing spells had drastically been reduced.

In fact, I had a sense of well-being and increased energy. I did several loads of laundry, went grocery shopping and baked a cake. Amazing, considering that just the day before I felt so bad! It had to be the elderberry syrup. I say this because it was the only new thing I did differently when I treat myself for a cold.

By Sunday I was symptom free! I have NEVER recovered from a cold this fast. Normally my colds would start in my head like this one did, then settle in my chest accompanied by a hacking cough that would last for weeks. I honestly believe taking the elderberry syrup early helped my body combat the virus before it got worse.

Now, I’m taking one dose of the Elderberry syrup daily to support my immune system. I’m also giving it to my husband daily. It’s good for children as well, and it tastes good too!

Here’s some good articles and information about this amazing Elderberry.

SIMPLY AMAZING ELDERBERRY and HONEY SYRUP

A super easy natural remedy for the whole family during cold and flu season.  Mother nature definitely got this one right!

2/3 cups dried Elderberries

3 cups pure/distilled water

1 cup honey (raw is better for you if you have it)

Place the Elderberries and water in a medium saucepan. Bring it to a boil, then turn down the heat and let it simmer covered for 20-30 minutes, or until it’s reduced to about a half. My husband doesn’t care for the smell…it is kinda potent.

Strain the mixture into a glass jar, bowl or measuring cup, pressing the elderberries with the back of a spoon to get ALL the juice out of them, and then discard the Elderberries.

Allow the mixture to cool until it’s just warm. Add the honey and stir until the honey is completely dissolved.

Pour into a glass bottle or mason jar and keep in the refrigerator.

Dosage: As a daily preventive measure: 1 tablespoon for adults, 1 teaspoon for children.

If you come down with a cold or the flu: Take the recommended dose every 3-4 hours. Once the symptoms are gone, continue taking the dose 3-4 times a day for a couple more days…just to be sure virus is out of your system.

 

Leave a Reply

