My Breakfast Biscuit Bites

24 Apr

I normally don’t eat breakfast, but when I was working at the tax office, I got hooked on these Nabisco Belvita Bites.

nabisco belvita bites

They were great with a cup of coffee and I could nibble on them throughout the morning. The only down side is that they’re kinda expensive and there’s only 5 pouches in a box.  Besides this mixed berry, there’s also chocolate ones with tiny chocolate pieces…Mmm!

I thought I would try making my own breakfast biscuit bites and came up with these tasty and crispy bites!

my pumpkin spice breakfast biscuits

Pumpkin Spice Breakfast Biscuits

Rather than just make plain ones, I added some pumpkin spice mix I had in the cupboard.  This recipe made over 130 – 1 1/2” biscuits, which will definitely last me awhile!  I’m going to try chocolate ones next using half the recipe.

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup dry oatmeal

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin spice

1/2 cup brown sugar (not packed)

1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature

1/4 cup cold milk

Measure the dry ingredients (first 7 ingredients) into a food processor and pulse a few times to combine. Drop pieces of the butter into the processor and pulse until combined. With processor running, slowly add the cold milk and mix until a dough starts to form.

Dump mixture onto a floured surface and knead until smooth. Roll the dough out to about 1/8′ thick and cut with cookie cutter or with a knife.

Place on greased cookie sheet, poke with a fork, and bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool completely on cookie rack.

Note: My biscuits turned out dark because I used dark brown sugar. For plain biscuits, replace the pumpkin spice with 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.  You could probably also use 1/4 cup of honey in place of the brown sugar (use less because honey is sweeter then sugar). 

Leave a Reply

